Coconut Flour Brownies

Coconut Flour Brownies  (gluten free)

Preheat oven to 350 and put parchment paper on a Pampered Chef Large Bar pan or another pan of the same size

In a small saucepan,

2 cups butter, melted

1 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Dissolve the cocoa powder in the butter. Don’t boil, just melt the butter and dissolve the cocoa.

Remove from the stove, so it can cool for a few minutes.

In a large mixer bowl,

8 eggs

1 1/3 cups Birch Xylitol

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup SIFTED coconut flour*

Add the butter and cocoa mix to the bowl and mix well.

Pour onto the bar pan lined with parchment paper.

Cook about 30 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

Cool in the pan on a rack for at least 30 minutes for ease of cutting and removing from the pan.

(Truly good hot with butter on it!)

*I do not like the regular sifter to sift the coconut flour.  It is very slow and my arm hurts by the time I get it done.  I use a large tea strainer and a spoon and sift it by shaking the strainer gently or stirring the coconut flour in the strainer, causing it to drop down into the  bowl below it.  Then, I measure my flour AFTER it is sifted.  Sifting removes lumps and makes sure you get the correct measurement and not a packed down coconut flour which would make your brownie heavy and dry.

Since this pan of brownies has lots of eggs in it, Hannah had declared it to be a chocolate breakfast casserole!  I don’t care when you eat it, it is fabulous to have something so yummy without sugar or grains!

9 Comments

Filed under Recipes

9 responses to “Coconut Flour Brownies

  1. maggie

    I made these today and they were good. The only feedback I would give is that they are more like cake than brownies. Also, a little dry. Some ideas to alleviate the dryness: add cream cheese, yogurt, buttermilk or sour cream, use a few less eggs, or use less xylitol and add some stevia and unsweetened applesauce. This would make a great birthday cake with some frosting (sugar free, of course!). IMO, it tastes like devil’s food chocolate cake.

    • Thanks, Maggie! I felt the same way, that this is more like a cake than a brownie. I tried it yesterday without the baking soda and that helped a little, but it is still cakey and I prefer gooey for a brownie, so next time I do this, I plan to cut the eggs a little and see what happens. Glad to have you testing with me!

  2. I halved this recipe and made it in the small bar pan. I think it turned out well. The brownies are delicious and I think they qualify as high protein/ low carb.

  3. I tweaked this and added more butter to make it more like a brownie and less like cake. The recipe could be adjusted to be more cake-like if you add baking powder.

  4. Sheelah

    Can you sub the butter with Coconut oil? So its dairy free for me?
    I have a little coconut flour from my order and I am anxious to try a recipe with it that I can eat.

Leave a Reply

