Temple Maintenance

In May, 2010, the LORD convicted me that since my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, I have a responsibility to care for it and not to feed it bad foods, especially sugar and foods that have high glycemic levels and convert to sugar in the blood stream.  While hunting for answers to an illness of a friend today, I read this in the book, A MORE EXCELLENT WAY, by Henry W. Wright, page 352.

“This ministry believes in temple maintenance.  We believe in good nutrition and we believe this in moderation (temperance).  You cannot expect to walk in health if you do not drink enough water and eat the proper mix of food.

What? Know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.                     1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Our body belongs to the Lord and we have a responsibility to give them proper rest, exercise and good nutrition,  You cannot expect to walk in health if you don’t drink enough water and eat foods to nourish the body. . . . . . . Many people have the idea that if they eat by faith and trust in God, then they can eat anything they want with no regard to nutrition.  Foolish, presumptuous faith negates the wisdom of God in good eating and will not promote health of the body.”

I don’t necessarily agree with Dr. Wright’s nutrition plan, but I am convinced that he has hit the nail on the head.  Since the LORD showed me the truth of this over a year ago, I can no longer eat wrong foods willfully and knowingly.  It is a sin to deliberately put bad fuel into the LORD’s temple!

Viewing bad foods as a sin has freed me from the conflict and temptation of eating them!  Thank you, Jesus for your gift of conviction and for opening my eyes to the TRUTH in this area of food.  My master is no longer food, but the LORD God and for His glory, I do eat and drink, wisely!

Tonight, we have a church social and I used to go to those and try to be moderate while eating bad foods.  I was fooling myself, because ANY sugar at all is bad for me and I knew it!  I believe we need to be moderate, even with good foods, but some things have to be totally stopped.  Would we say we can sin as long as we are moderate?  I think not!

Now, since I am publicly off sugar and openly counting my days, I am held accountable and so eating anything not on my eating plan at a church dinner is not an option for me.  To do so would be a sin for me and a bad witness to those who are there.  I am now free NOT to eat those things that used to hold me captive!

3 Comments

Filed under Ponderings

3 responses to “Temple Maintenance

  1. I really haven’t wanted to use stevia. I keep thinking it will become the next sugar substitute that gets booted to the “bad” list!
    Good post…..

    Blessings,
    -Kenzel

    • I felt the same way, but then, I researched it and found out that stevia has been used in Paraguay for hundreds of years and in Japan for over 50. I read The Miracle of Stevia by James May and I am convinced that stevia is a good choice for me.

  2. Reblogged this on Out of My Bondage and commented:

    Looking back over my blog and realized how FREE I am from the confusion of making food choices. I am so glad I made a once and for ALL decision about which foods I will and will not eat. The choice is final! That gives freedom!

Leave a Reply

