Pumpkin Custard or Pie Filling

Pumpkin Custard or Pie Filling

½ cup Birch Xylitol

¼ teaspoon Clear Stevia

½ teaspoon REAL salt

1¼ teaspoon cinnamon

3 large eggs

1 can – 15 oz Pumpkin

12 oz heavy cream*

Mix all ingredients except the cream well.  Slowly add the cream and mix well.  Slowly, so it doesn’t slush out of the mixing bowl.  Pour into a deep dish pie pan or 9×9 square baking dish.

You can use an unbaked pie crust or if you are watching the carbs or like my family, just don’t care for crust, just cook it like a custard.  Grease the pan without crust.

If you use a crust, I highly recommend Maris Russell’s whole wheat crust made with butter, ww flour and water, unless gluten is an issue, and then, I suggest you try it crustless as it is quite good that way.

My family was leaving the crust for years and I quit putting crust under pumpkin way before I started restricting carbs, just because I didn’t like them wasting it.

Bake at 350 for approximately one hour. I check it at 30 minutes and at 45 minutes.  I bake until a toothpick stuck into the center comes out clean.  Let it cool on a rack for two hours and then, serve or refrigerate.

Serve with heavy cream whipped with Vanilla crème stevia.  I use 9-12 drops per cup of cream, sweetening to taste.  With stevia, less is  more, so do a little and add more to taste remembering that it is 200 times sweeter than processed sugar.

*Most people use one can of evaporated milk, but I prefer heavy cream.  Either way, this will make a nice pumpkin pie or custard.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

