Almond Crust report

Dear Followers,

I was not pleased with the almond pie crust we did for Thanksgiving.  It was good on top of the apple pie where it stayed intact, but the bottom of the apple pie and the pecan pie was soggy and absorbed much of the liquid from the pies.  So, we are still looking for a gluten free, grain free pie crust.  We tried rice and it fell apart and now almond and it fell apart.  Have any of you had success with non-grain pie crusts?

Stay tuned!

God bless you,

Ladonna

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Ponderings, Recipes

3 responses to “Almond Crust report

  1. maggie

    My coconut flour crust acted much the same as your almond crust, but I’m not ready to give up on it yet. It tasted really good. I did not pre-bake my crust and I’m thinking that might be the solution. I’m also thinking about trying your cheesecake crust as the crust for other kinds of pies (including pumpkin).

  2. I will keep trying, as I am NOT going back to wheat. We prefer pumpkin without a crust and perhaps pecan would be better crustless, too. I was thinking about my cheesecake crust, too. Great minds , , ,

  3. Maris Russell

    This is the crust my mom made for her pumpkin pie. It isn’t grainless but gf and more nuts than grain. You could leave out the sucanat.

    Pecan Pie Shell

    1 cup pecans 1 T. sucanat 2/3 cup GF flour 2 T. water

    Grind pecans in food processor. Add sucanat and flour and continue to mix. Add water and mix until hold together. Pour into pie plate and use back of a spoon to cover the plate and up the sides. Bake at 350 degrees, then pour the pie filling into the shell and continue baking for about 50 minutes.

Leave a comment