1000 Days & Counting!

1,000 Days!

Yes, I am still counting.  I feel it is just as important for me to count my days off sugar as it is for an alcoholic to count their days off alcohol.  I was a sugar and food addict.

Most folks want a quick fix for their health issues.  They go to the doctor and they want a pill or shot to fix their problems.  Very few want to do the REAL work it takes to be healthy or regain their health from years of bad habits and unhealthy eating.

That was me for years and years.  Sick and sick and tired of being sick, yet buying thousands of dollars of supplements, taking weekly massages, and never getting better.  I knew what to do.  I had been under the care of a natural practitioner in 1993 and 1994 and I got better when I made healthy changes.  The problem was I didn’t have a conviction about it.  I was just doing it temporarily to feel better.  As soon as I felt better, I went back to my unhealthy ways.  My condition grew rapidly worse than ever.

Then, in November, 2009, I was really in pitiful shape, with constant pain from fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, severe acid reflux, frozen shoulders, a dowager’s hump and shingles.

I started eating better, so I was gradually improving.  I remembered how well I felt back in 1993 & 1994 and I began reducing bad foods and increasing good, healthy foods.  In May, 2010, I watched this video and the LORD used it to convict me that I needed to make permanent changes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=dBnniua6-oM

I urge you to watch it.  This man has no website and no book to sell.  He is passionate about it because he sees people dying and suffering from ill health.

Sugar is a huge factor in chronic disease and illness.  When I obeyed the LORD’s prompting to NEVER do sugar again, He opened my mind to recreating our family favorites with natural alternatives.  During June, 2010, I made a plan and the last day I knowingly ate sugar was July 11.  (FYI – sugar is hidden in so many things.  Some restaurants even marinate steaks in it!)

In the last 1,000 days, we have had three sugar free holiday seasons and numerous birthdays, weddings and other special occasions.  I am here to tell you that there is fun food without sugar.  In fact, the food we eat now is guilt free and delicious!  Best of all, the food we eat now does not make us feel lethargic or tired.  It energizes us.

My companion for this journey has been my daughter, Hannah.  She is a great support and encouragement to me.  She has converted many recipes and worked to make this successful, too.   You can read her post of our 1,000 days here: http://sweetsuccess4u.wordpress.com/2013/04/05/one-thousand-days/

We have an abundant sugar free life!  I feel better than I did 20 years ago!  I am thankful to the LORD for all His many blessings.  I am thankful first of all for salvation.  I am thankful for the conviction to take keep myself and my family healthy.   My number one purpose in life is to serve and glorify the LORD.  Good health and vitality means I can serve Him better than ever before.

Soli Deo Gloria!
Ladonna
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Ponderings

2 responses to “1000 Days & Counting!

  1. skeetrb8@clearwire.net

    congratulations for making this huge mile marker! you are a great role model. blessings

  2. Jennifer Vanderveer

    Ladonna, this is truly a remarkable feat in your life. I am so thankful that you are well on the road to good health. You and Hannah have inspired me to give up the sugar and grains, but I also was convicted about my body being the temple of Yehovah. With this conviction, it has been easier to give up than I thought. “We can do all things through Messiah, who strengthens us”.

Leave a Reply

