1461 Days of Freedom

Today, Friday, July 11, completes1, 461 days or four years since I QUIT SUGAR!  Tomorrow, Saturday, July 12,  will be day one of year five!

I cannot begin to tell you how wonderfully abundant my life is without sugar!  I don’t feel deprived.  I feel FREE from addiction!  That is why I named my blog “Out of My Bondage”.  I used to think constantly about what sugary food item I would eat next.  I don’t even think about food every moment of every day any more, no less sweet foods! My mind and body were so affected by my bad food choices that I was truly in bondage.

The past four years have been busy.  While traveling, I have worked to convert family favorites to sugar free versions.  There were some obvious flops along the way, but for the most part, my family is very happy with the victories.  They love our ice cream, chocolate cake, banana muffins and waffles.    They love our regular meals which are healthier than before because they are all made homemade with no processed food in them..  (Typical meat and veggies, just not marinated or sauced with the bad stuff we used to use.)

This has been a journey.  It began in 2010 because I felt rotten and people were sick and dying all around me.  I felt compelled to give the sugar free/grain free life a chance.  I had done it before several times, but this time, I decided I was quitting sugar permanently.  The LORD gave me a strong conviction that I could no longer put sugar into my body, which is the Temple of the Holy Spirit.

I quit grains for a season and then, began to add them back in.  I could tell I didn’t feel as good when I ate grains, especially wheat.  They came in and out of my diet until I read the book WHEAT BELLY by Dr. William Davis and then, I made the decision to QUIT WHEAT like I had QUIT SUGAR!  Later I read GRAIN BRAIN by Dr. David Perlmutter and then, I truly began to understand the reasons behind my years of misery.

I HAD a “wheat belly” and a “grain brain”.  At one point in my life, I was overweight and it was mostly my belly and I had brain fog to the point that friends offered me resources to overcome Alzheimer’s!  There were times I literally thought I was losing my mind because I could not think straight and my memory was so bad.

When I got off sugar and grains, my weight fell off and the fog lifted.  My thinking has gotten progressively clearer over the past four years!  It has been amazing to me to be able to remember things again.   I redid a class in March, 2014 that I had originally taken in February, 2011.  What a difference feeding my body and brain healthy foods for three years made for me.  I thought I was well in 2011 when I first took the class until I took it again in 2014 and realized how much more I was getting from it in 2014.  (And I was catering food for the class in 2014, so I was even multi-tasking!)

I have made multiple discoveries about my own physical and mental health and I have been able to look back and I now understand some of the health issues that my children had as babies and children, too.  Now that I understand the side effects of sugar, wheat and grains, I am so thankful for the chance to live life without them.  My only regret is that I did not understand all this sooner and that I did not raise my children with healthier choices.  I wish I could have saved them the pain of being addicted to sugar and grains.

I have a few friends who have taken this journey with me.  It has been an adventure!  It has been fun to share recipes and find ways to satisfy our families’ sweet tooth with our new sugar free/grain free treats.  I am thankful to the LORD for each of you who have supported and encouraged me along the way.  I pray each of you experience total freedom from the food addiction that has held us for so many years.

I meet people all the time who are suffering with problems that can be reduced or even eliminated if they would QUIT sugar and grains.  Many fear they will never enjoy food again.  Many are so attached to their “comfort” foods that they cannot even imagine how they could “live” without bread or sugar.  Many are thrilled to find my blog and have a place to start eating clean and healthy.

I want to go on record that getting off sugar and wheat and greatly limiting all grains has changed my life for the BETTER!  It was worth the struggles of withdrawal.  It was worth the effort to convert family favorites.  It is even worth the inconvenience of having to take my own food to special events.

And just so you know, I feel better than I have in 20 years!  I am no longer faced with daily decisions about what I will eat.  I made a once and for all choice that I will eat healthy!  That choice has given my body the building blocks it needed to have energy, vitality, and I feel better than I did 20 years ago.

What made the difference this time over all the other times that I changed my eating habits?  #1 is the LORD giving me the precious gift of conviction that this body is HIS Temple and I needed to treat it that way.  #2 is the LORD giving me the creativity to convert recipes to healthier versions.  I am so thankful for learning about Birch Xylitol, SweetLeaf Stevia, Coconut Flour, Almond Flour and other alternatives.

I thank the LORD for His gifts of conviction.  These have enabled me to serve Him now more fully than I did when I was younger.   To God be the glory!

2 Comments

Filed under Ponderings

2 responses to “1461 Days of Freedom

  1. Lai Sow Lan

    May I know what is grain free?

    • That means eating no grains – no wheat, barley, spelt, oats, corn, rice, etc.

      Most of my recipes are grain free, but I do have one that uses some rice flour just so I could make biscuits for my husband. However, I am about to try some other alternatives

Leave a Reply

