Pecan Waffles

Pecan Waffles

  • 4 eggs or 6 egg whites and two eggs**
  • ½ cup coconut milk
  • 1 or 2 squirts English Toffee SweetLeaf Stevia*
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted or other oil or butter
  • 3 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon coconut flour
  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 cup pecan meal
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  •  chopped pecans to desired chunkiness (I like 1/2 cup pecan pieces.)

 

**Okay, we discovered that the batter is thinner and the texture better when we use egg whites instead of just whole eggs… Our granddaughter is allergic to egg whites, so we separated the eggs for a cake for her and I needed to do something with the egg whites, so I made waffles and we LOVED the crispier texture.

*If your family is not used to stevia yet, you can put 1 teaspoon to 1 Tablespoon of Birch xylitol  or Erythritol and reduce the stevia to 1 squirt.  I have found that a blend of the two tastes more neutral.  I have come to love stevia myself, but I do a blend when cooking for people not used to it.

Mix in the blender or mixing bowl and cook in the waffle iron.  I put half the pecans in and let them blend thoroughly and then, I put the other half in and only blended a little so there would be pieces of pecans in the waffles.

If you are using pecans already ground into meal, you can use a mixing bowl and a mixer instead of the blender.

I top with fresh fruit for a lower glycemic meal than the typical syrups.

My family loves stevia sweetened strawberries and stevia sweetened whip cream.

Tip to sweeten the strawberries so they will have a sweet syrup, place the stevia in a small amount of water and pour that over the strawberries.  For instance, if you would have put 1 cup of sugar in your large bowl of strawberries, put 1 teaspoon stevia in 1/2 cup water.  Let them stand for about 15 minutes and stir frequently.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Pecan Waffles

  1. Andrea

    I can’t wait to try these. How do you replace bulk when converting a recipe with maple syrup into a Stevie recipe?

    • Every brand of stevia varies in its potency. I use SweetLeaf brand. For the liquids, 1 teaspoon equals 1 cup of sugar or maple syrup. In something like waffles, I simply add more milk, water or whatever liquid I am using to take care of the bulk.

      In cakes, I typically do part birch xylitol and part stevia. There are several cake recipes on here that turn out very nicely.

  2. Reblogged this on Out of My Bondage and commented:

    Just made this batter with egg whites for our breakfast tomorrow.. It keeps well in the frig and Terry and I eat it for a couple of mornings.

Leave a Reply

