Grain Free Bread

1 1/4 cups almond flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

1/3 cup pecan meal

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 teaspoon Xanthum Gum* OR

1 teaspoon Arrowroot Powder OR

1 tsp Great Lakes unflavored beef gelatin dissolved in 3 Tablespoons water

1 cup buttermilk**

3 eggs

1/4 cup oil or melted butter

*Our first choice as of the latest batches of this is the Xanthum Gum.  It gave it a better texture. It needs one of the three choices to keep it from crumbling.

** Buttermilk is 1 Tablespoon vinegar and 1 cup coconut milk.  You can use any vinegar and any milk.  I like Coconut Secret Vinegar and coconut milk.

I make the buttermilk by putting the vinegar in the bottom of a 1 cup measuring cup and adding the milk to the top and while it sits.

IF I were using gelatin, I dissolve the gelatin in another cup.  Then, I mix them together and whisk with the eggs.

I mix all the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and make a hole in the middle and pout in the wet mix.  Mix it well and then, add the oil.  Mix well and bake at 350 until golden brown.

To best have it the thickness needed for sandwiches, bake it on parchment paper in a large bar pan.  I use a large stone bar pan.

This is a wonderful substitute for cornbread, works for dressing and also I made a grilled cheese out of it.  I cut a square and then, sliced it in half and cooked it in the skillet with butter and cheese.  Terry just used it to make a turkey sandwich!

One of the problems we have experienced with alternative breads made with coconut and almond flour is that they don’t get as dry and firm inside as we like.  We have always liked our quick breads brown and crunchy.

Today, I made some of this bread and put it in a large bar pan.  It was thinner and browned so nicely.  It was done enough for even my husband!

I am super happy with this “bread”.

2015-11-25 18.52.59

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Grain Free Bread

  1. A few weeks ago, we used some of this leftover to make pizza. We had a hard time getting this sugarfree “bread” to brown when we cut it open to toast it before adding pizza toppings. Today I made this bread in a large bar pan and it was thinner and well browned. Gonna’ try that pizza again!

  2. This week I experimented with various versions of this. This was my uncorn bread. Since we are now cooking it in a large bar pan and using it for sandwiches, I changed the name to Grain Free Bread. I wish I could think of a catchy name or something more original, but it is just not there right now. I have made this “bread” with arrowroot, gelatin and the latest version was with Xanthum Gum and we liked that one the best. I made it dairy free, so this is grain free, dairy free, sugar and even sweetener free!

  3. Are you cooking this first and then doing the pizza or using the recipe as raw “dough” when making pizza?

Leave a Reply

